My personal campaign setting: first steps!

So, as my first REAL project in mapping, I decided to create a map that will become the setting for my personal Pathfinder setting. It won’t be too big, but definitely large enough to have everything I want.

I also decided, by a friend’s suggestion, to try something different this time: a hand-drawn map. The catch is that I’m not exactly a good artist – I’m not even average, actually. So there is a lot of practice involved, and it will hopefully help me improve a lot. =)

First, I started drawing various features, just to try and decide the overall style of the map. This is what I got so far (click to enlarge):

I’m still drawing a lot of trees, mountains, cliffs, dunes, etc. I’m having a difficult time with dense forests, so if anyone has any tips, I would appreciate it!

Also, I started sketching the overall coastline shapes, mountains and forests locations, rivers, etc. Here is the rough first draft (click to enlarge):

Both were drawn by hand and scanned. I’m also planning a lot of other stuff for the setting, but most don’t really belong here, so I’ll just leave it at that for now.

Well, that’s what I have done at this time. Please feel free to criticize (I need it a lot)!

See ya!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

